Meet the Team – Norlina Yakin

My name is Norlina Yakin and I am the Corporate Team Leader at Absolute Balance.

I am originally from the Cocos (Keeling) Islands. I was born in Perth but grew up and lived on the islands for 15 years. As you can imagine, living on a remote island would be very relaxing and a lot quieter compared to the busy big city life. This is a bonus for everyone especially the kids. Growing up, I had all the freedom to go outdoors without our parent’s supervision from the age of about 5 years old. I was always active and were out bike riding with friends, running around everywhere and fishing off the beaches. The island had soccer competitions every so often where local kids/youths were placed into teams – I joined and played soccer for a few years.

The one major concern I had was that about half of the islanders were living a sedentary lifestyle even though they have all the freedom to go outdoors. My question at the time was ‘How can I turn this around? How can I help the local people?’ The Island did not have a gym facility of any sort at the time, so this really opened my mind to step up.

I sadly had to leave all my family behind in 2005; including my parents, two brothers, grandparents and extended family as I had to move to Perth to continue high school. (the school back home only goes up to year 10). After high school, I straight away knew what I wanted to do; to be a Fitness Instructor and to help the local islanders especially on their health and fitness. I went to TAFE to attain qualifications and had thoughts to implement this back home. Instead, I was offered a job in Perth straight after completing my studies and have been working ever since. Even though my job offer was in Perth, I still had that chance to offer personal training sessions and group fitness classes for the locals when I am home. Over the course of my career, I have worked with different clienteles where I was able to implement my knowledge to help and assist with their health and fitness goals.

During my free time, I try and relax at home but that is very rare as I love to keep active and be on the go all the time. This includes doing my weekend workouts, hanging out with friends or doing house chores.